Montebello Police Department

General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.

In California, the Police Department are required to follow strict state and local guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for issuing Concealed Carry Weapon licenses. Due to the detailed nature involved with conducting these background checks, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, the applicant will be asked to schedule an interview appointment for a new Concealed Carry Weapon license.

If the applicant is RENEWING a Concealed Carry Weapon license in the city of Montebello, they may not apply until 30 days before the expiration date listed on their current Concealed Carry Weapon license.

Please read the requirements section below to make sure you have all the information required for applying for a Concealed Carry Weapon License.

 

Pricing:

Type of Permit Standard 2 Year

Initial Fee
Paid on submission of your application

$44.00

Issuance Fee
Paid upon the approval of the application
 $176.00
   
Renewal Fee $25.00
Duplicate/Modification Fee $10.00
      • For credit card transactions a nominal credit card transaction fee will be charged for each transaction. Charges will be viewable prior to transaction completion.
      • Appointments for Concealed Carry Weapon licenses will be processed between Tuesdays.
      • Click the appropriate button on the left of the screen to proceed with an application for a Concealed Carry Weapon license.

 

Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.

 

Please note that this website is optimized for Edge, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.

CCW Information



Concealed Carry Weapon License Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

 

For the complete Montebello PD CCW Policy, CLICK HERE

Authority

California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a Sheriff of a county or the Chief or other head of municipal police department of any city, or city and county, shall issue or renew a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (Concealed Carry Weapon license).

Who Shall be Issued a License

The licensing authority specified in Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 shall issue a license to persons who are not a disqualified person to receive such a license, as determined in accordance with the standards set forth in Penal Code 26202, meet residential requirements, and have completed a course of training. All applicants for a Concealed Carry Weapon license will be fingerprinted and state and federal records will be checked to determine if they are eligible to possess firearms. Click here to view all categories that would prohibit a person from possessing firearms and being granted a Concealed Carry Weapon license.

Completing the Application

California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a sheriff of a county or the chief or other head of a municipal police department of any city or city and county shall issue a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (CCW license). Penal Code section 26175 requires the Attorney General to prescribe a statewide standard application form for a CCW license.  Answering all the questions on the Application does not guarantee the issuance of a Concealed Weapon Permit. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority. Pursuant to California Penal Code section 26160, each licensing authority will have a written policy summarizing their requirements for issuance of a Concealed Weapon Permit. In addition, prior to issuing a Concealed Weapon Permit, the California State Statutes require proof that:

  • The applicant is not a disqualified person to receive such a license, as determined in accordance with the standards set forth in Penal Code 26202;
  • The applicant is at least 21 years of age, and presents clear evidence of the person’s identity and age, as defined in Penal Code 16400;
  • The applicant is a resident of that city or city and county. Prima facie evidence of residency within the county or a city within the county includes, but is not limited to, the address where the applicant is registered to vote, the applicant’s filing of a homeowner’s property tax exemption, and other acts, occurrences, or events that indicate presence in the county or a city within the county is more than temporary or transient. The presumption of residency in the county or city within the county may be rebutted by satisfactory evidence that the applicant’s primary residence is in another county or city within the county;
  • The course of training prescribed by the licensing authority has been completed.
  • The applicant is the recorded owner, with the Department of Justice, of the pistol, revolver, or other firearm for which the license will be issued.

Character References

You will need to provide the names and contact information of three persons willing to serve as references.  One of the three must be a person described in Penal Code section 273.5, subdivision (b) (your spouse, or former spouse, your cohabitant or former cohabitant, your fiancée, or someone with whom you have, or previously had, an engagement or dating relationship, or the mother or father of your child), if applicable.  At least one of the three must be your cohabitant if applicable.

Training Required

Effective January 1st, 2024, Senate Bill 2 requires that the firearms training course for initial CCW applications be a minimum of 16 hours and for CCW renewal applications by a minimum of 8 hours - Penal Code 26165.  

If applying for a NEW Concealed Carry Weapon license a course approved by the Montebello Police Department must be completed prior to permit issuance. This course will be a minimum of 16 hours.

If applying for a RENEWAL Concealed Carry Weapon license, a 8 hour course approved by the Montebello Police Department must be completed prior to permit issuance.

If applying for a MODIFICATION to your current Concealed Carry Weapon license that includes a firearm change, you will need to submit training certifications from a traning vendor approved by the Montebello Police Department.

    • The Montebello Police Department recognizes only select training facilities to satisfy your qualification certification. Training from any other facility will not be accepted. Approved training facilities are listed HERE

Prior to Filling Out This Application

  • Be prepared to scan a copy of your valid California Driver’s license or California Identification card, which reflects your current City of Montebello address.
  • Be prepared to scan copies of two proof of residency document - current and consecutive utility bills/statements that are in your name and reflect your current address in the City of Montebello. If you do not have utility bills in your name, residency documentation provided must be a monthly recurring bill. Mortgage statements and annual bills are NOT accepted. Past due bills/statements are NOT accepted.
  • Be sure that each firearm you plan on listing on your Concealed Carry Weapon license is on record in the state of California in your name or your spouse’s name and that documentation is available to be submitted with the application.

 


For More Information, Contact:

Montebello Police Department

Address:

1600 W. Beverly Blvd.
Montebello, CA 90640

Telephone: (323) 887-1313

 

For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software
Email: help@permitium.com
Phone: (855) 642-2453